Tags

3 months ago…

At the start of my 37th week, I was due for a check up, in which my doctor gave the go signal that I could give birth any time. She also taught me how to push and reminded me to log any pain I’ll experience from then on.

Maybe the baby in my tummy heard the go signal, because at 2 am, I started experiencing menstrual-like cramps. Being the good student that I am, I made a chart to log in my contractions

20120118-213030.jpg

I also remembered not to take in anything but sips of water. Come 8 am, the contractions intensified but I still managed to take a bath. I *calmly* woke up my husband to take me to the hospital because it is time already. I knew he was monitoring me all night long and was just waiting for me to say something.

We got to the hospital and we found out that I was 5 cm already! Because my baby follows everything by the book, I dilated 1 cm per hour. So, more or less I was in labor for 12 hours! Good thing I had epidural already or else I would’ve passed out from the pain!

Pushing the baby out was seamless and very different from the movies! What was very uncomfortable was the number of spectators! My mom’s interns were all present with their camera phones on hand. Good thing because we forgot our own cameras!

As soon as Z came out, he was placed on my chest for immediate skin-to-skin contact and latching. When he was brought to the nursery for cleaning and checking, I felt woozy and light headed from a sudden drop in my blood pressure. I just closed my eyes for a while but was never unconscious. My mom gave me a sip of coke and a slice of pizza right there at the delivery table!

20120118-215509.jpg

Z was roomed-in with me and though it was a sleepless night, it surely was worth it.

