Tags

, ,

They say that the only constant thing in this world is change. And, once I became a mom that’s been the only thing happening to me. Four months into this journey (or 12, since you start becoming a mom since egg meets sperm) and I know my life took a complete turn.

For one, I’m not self-centered anymore. Everything is about our little king to which I don’t have qualms about! Once you become a mom, your needs will be the last thing on your mind as there are more important matters to take care of. But that doesn’t mean forgetting about yourself. There are countless ways on how to prevent being a “losyang” mom. In fact, mommyhood gives me that happy glow (nevermind the eye bags) and boobies that were never there! I’m enjoying a “fuller” body, which makes clothes look good on me 😉 Health-wise, I’m now eating fruits and veggies and I’m trying to stay away from fast foods, processed foods and junk foods. Operative word: trying.

By feeding on demand, my usual OCness on schedules have taken aback. I’ve to rely on my baby on what to do. Thankfully, he’s somewhat falling into a routine these days; wake up at 6-7am, poop, take a bath, nap, playtime, nap, playtime… sleep at 8pm. Feedings are still every 2 hours. I depend on his schedule as to when I’ll take a bath, dress up (to prevent my clothes from being soiled), do errands and most importantly, sleep. I realize that having a baby means having a schedule with no schedule. Weird but it works!

Now that I’m a mom, every little thing matters. A red patch on the face, a not so seedy poop, a new sound he makes… I’m like a CSI agent! And these observations turn me into a worry wart that our pedia may already have a template for me saying “it’s normal” to every text message I send to her. Can’t blame me, I’m a mommy! But as I’m slowly learning, I can’t have every little thing bother me (and my pedia with my late night texts). There’s always Google to appease my fumbling mind.

Unsolicited advice goes hand in hand with motherhood. Be it from a relative, a lady from the grocery, the security guards in the condo, name it and they have something to say about how you should take care of your child. Instead of retorting to every remark, I carefully choose my battles. If it’s harmless, I’d let it pass. But if it’s about breastfeeding or spoiling my baby with always being carried, that’s when I bring out the guns, uhm, the research exactly. I’d rather save my energy for my next feeding session than to have a senseless debate since all babies are different!

I’ve noticed that as a mom, I am now more emotional, caring, doting, feminine and sensitive. I guess motherhood can melt even the coldest heart.

