Tags

, ,

I’m not sure when the new breastfeeding lounge was officially opened but it was only last week that I got to use it. The lounge is located between Crossing’s and Planet Sports. There’s a sign leading to it along with a female restroom. This is the second breastfeeding area in the mall (the other one inside Rustan’s, 3rd floor). We can nurse anywhere but I’m happy that Shang Mall is being a breastfeeding-friendly mall since we practically live there!

I love how roomy it is, especially when a lot of strollers would be put in. It is also ventilated really well. There are 2 changing pads  you’ll see upon entering. It was soft and cushiony. My only problem with that is the lighting fixture I needed to work around with to ensure Z’s clean bottom. They’ve also got 2 sinks but the soap dispenser is still empty.

Moving on inside the room, you’ll be greeted by 5 yellow orange chairs that doesn’t look comfortable. And it isn’t. I wish they could change it to a sofa-like chair with a wider opening. It was a bit narrow for me and Z and he’s just 4 months, what more a mom who needs to nurse a toddler. I also suggest putting pillows to help moms and babies be more at ease in a marathon feeding session. At the far end of the room sits a new refrigerator which is still not turned on and a sink.

The lounge has house rules such as no entry to male guests and no food and drinks other than water allowed. I can abide to these rules but who shall I tell in case someone’s not as there is no attendant inside.

I’m happy that Shangri La Mall is gearing up to be a breastfeeding-friendly mall. Next step is to put changing pads in all of their restrooms! I’m hoping that breastfeeding lounges doesn’t mean that we can’t nurse anywhere in the mall, recalling the incident in another mall. At the most, I’m pleased that our 2nd home is thinking about nursing moms like me!

