Tags

, , , ,

life's important lessons

Photo Source

Is there such greeting? To most, Holy Week is a few days off from work to spend on the beach or somewhere leisurely. We’re included in that group. Not that we do not respect the holiness of this week, but it’s a time when we’re all together. I, personally, have made sacrifices in lieu of this Catholic tradition. Sacrifices, or possibly life-changers, which I know will make me a better mom.

  • Hearing Mass weekly. As a mom, I want to instill little family rituals early on to my son. I want him to remember that as a family, we go to church and pray. I must admit that I wasn’t a church-goer before, because my family isn’t akin to doing so. I’ve to thank my husband for this as he was the one who encourage for us to do this.
  • Pray. I often catch myself praying more than usual. Ever since I became a mom, my prayer was to always keep my family healthy and out of danger.
  • Eat healthily. One of the Holy Week tradition I had a hard time following was to not eat meat on Fridays. You see, I loathed fruits and was not in love with vegetables. I am as carnivorous as a T-rex. But this year, I started opening up to fruits, veggies and fish. I’ve even experimented with a lot of dishes that can be added to my cooking repertoire. Part of being a mom is serving healthy dishes and being a good example of a healthy eater. I don’t want my son to grow up like me. I’ll be posting my foodventures on this blog soon!

What were your sacrifices this Lenten season? Are you planning to keep them even after the Holy Week?

